Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Medical expenses draining our budget. Your help would be so appreciated.
Dear Friend.

I am a mother reaching out for assistance to anyone who might be able to assist me with any kind of financial aid, no matter how small, due to spiraling debt from Covid Delta treatment, and subsequent long-covid treatment.

I am 46 years old. I have two beautiful sons, Joshua and Jesse, aged 18 and 16 respectively. I am married to a pastor, and we live in a small town in the Northern Cape of South Africa, Africa. 

I have always prided myself on being a hard-working, dedicated woman. I have an Honors degree in Counseling Psychology, and over the past few years have worked as a teacher in elementary school, which I have loved.

However, in August 2021 I tested positive for Covid, the Delta pandemic. I got Covid bronchitis twice, 21 days apart and needed to go to hospital, but could not afford it. Since then my lungs have been aching. My anosmia (loss of smell/ taste) turned into parosmia (terrible smells and tastes) in October, and since then I have lost about 33 pounds (15,4 kilograms). My heartbeat is irregular and I am suffering with extreme fatigue. 

For the past four years I have battled with major clinical depression and panic / anxiety disorder. I have sought the help of a psychologist, psychiatrist, therapy and medication. Presently my doctor is treating me medically and it is under control. 

I am currently in bed with my fourth case of bacterial lung infection. The doctor told me this week that the long covid has caused a lot of inflammation around my heart, lungs and damaged nerves in my olfactory system. He has said that I cannot be active at all until this passes. He estimates that the process could still take 18 to 24 minths, based on the current scientific research being done around long-covid.