Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
SOS: Roof over my head Appeal
Brick 
Hi I am John, a 52 year old Driver by profession. Fate has always had a way of throwing a wrench into the mix of life at the least expected time. My down hill journey started with the death of my 2 best friend due to complications of Covid-19.

I did not take their passing too well and fell into a bit of depression. The three musketeers, was now down to one. A thirty year old brotherhood extinguished in the blink of an eye. Getting old in several cases, comes with a creeping stage of loneliness, invisibility and societal discard most cant see exists until one turns 50 plus.

In the 15 months that followed the start of the pandemic I lived off my savings. Things seemed fine.

I guess was in the denial phase of living with grief. And the pressure of Covid. My depression got worse to the point, I had to be put on medication,and this is where my descent to destitution homelessness and poverty picked up speed. As a professionally driver, as is in most countries, we are legally required to disclose all medications and health conditions that could affect ability to drive socially and professionally. Especially professionally..

Once I made the call, I was notified in in writing in May this year that I could no longer drive professionally or socially for a 12 month period. Form that point life took a down hill turn fast. My lively-hood taken away in an instant. Driving professionally is all I have known. My saving was at that point depleted, my depression ever present and to make matters works I lost the roof over my head just like that. I've tried to find other work like cleaning, garbage collecting and drivers mate jobs, making money online with little success.

I really need help raising about £5000 in total to be able to get a roof over my head for 9 months, until next year, when I will get my professional drivers license entitlement back and live again.